Lichfield Cathedral Choir Lent Quiz 2016

Bookmark and Share

Choral Festival at Lichfield Cathedral, 1865Lent 2016 sees an exciting new #LentQuiz which involves cathedrals, abbeys, minsters and Royal Peculiars throughout England which have choral foundations. The area of a church in which its choir sings is usually called the Choir or the Quire and although they are generally configured in a similar manner, their appearance and decoration differ and there are some wonderful examples of architecture up and down the country.

For each of the forty days of Lent 2016 (which runs from Wednesday 10 February to Saturday 26 March and excludes Sundays) a picture of the Quire (or an area thereof) of an English cathedral, abbey, minster or Royal Peculiar will be published here at midnight and accessed via the relevant link below, or via tweets and posts on our Facebook page sent out as reminders during the course of the day.

To enter, people simply have to identify which place of worship is featured in the picture. Entries will be accepted during the 24 hours after the publication of each day's image at midnight. Obviously, Lent only has 40 days, and there are 44 English cathedrals; there are four which will not be represented. The previous days' images will remain accessible through the links below, but entries will not be accepted more than 24 hours after the image is published. Within each 24 hour period, people can enter as many times as they like, but only their final answer will be accepted.

There will be daily winners selected at random from the correct answers, and an overall winner with the highest number of correct answers; if there is a tie, the overall winner will be selected at random. Both daily winners and the overall winner will be named on Easter Day and the overall winner will win a year's free membership of the Friends of Cathedral Music and can be found, along with the answers, here.

  1. Wednesday 10 February
  2. Thursday 11 February
  3. Friday 12 February
  4. Saturday 13 February
  5. Monday 15 February
  6. Tuesday 16 February
  7. Wednesday 17 February
  8. Thursday 18 February
  9. Friday 19 February
  10. Saturday 20 February
  11. Monday 22 February
  12. Tuesday 23 February
  13. Wednesday 24 February
  14. Thursday 25 February
  15. Friday 26 February
  16. Saturday 27 February
  17. Monday 29 February
  18. Tuesday 01 March
  19. Wednesday 02 March
  20. Thursday 03 March
  21. Friday 04 March
  22. Saturday 05 March
  23. Monday 07 March
  24. Tuesday 08 March
  25. Wednesday 09 March
  26. Thursday 10 March
  27. Friday 11 March
  28. Saturday 12 March
  29. Monday 14 March
  30. Tuesday 15 March
  31. Wednesday 16 March
  32. Thursday 17 March
  33. Friday 18 March
  34. Saturday 19 March
  35. Monday 21 March
  36. Tuesday 22 March
  37. Wednesday 23 March
  38. Thursday 24 March
  39. Friday 25 March
  40. Saturday 26 March

site design, layout and contents © 2000-2017 Richard Shakeshaft, unless otherwise attributed
Richard Shakeshaft is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees
by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk