Lichfield Cathedral Choir Lent Quiz 2019

Lent 2019 marks our tenth penitential quiz, and we are collaborating with Regent Records again to mark the occasion.

For each day of Lent (from Ash Wednesday, this year on 6 March, until Easter Eve and excluding Sunday), an audio clip of seasonal choral or organ music from Regent's catalogue will be published here at midnight. It can be accessed via the relevant link below, or via tweets and posts on our Facebook page sent out as reminders during the course of the day.

As this is our tenth anniversary quiz, there is a new twist to make Lent 2019 a little trickier...

The first 22 days (until Laetare Sunday) will be a single piece of music, and people simply have to identify the title of the music and its composer (or arranger): both details have to be correct for a point to be awarded. The challenge is increased for the remaining 18 days of Lent, and the clip is of two tracks combined. On the final 18 days, the titles and composers (or arrangers) of both pieces of music need to be identified; however, a mark will be awarded for each correct track, meaning the maximum possible score in the quiz will be 58. Entries will be accepted from the moment the clip appears to 23:59 on the same day. People can enter as many times as they like during the day, but only their final answer will be counted.

There will be three overall winners with the highest number of correct answers; if there is a tie, the overall winners will be selected at random. Regent Records has kindly provided first, second and third prizes for the overall winners: a choice of three CDs, two CDs, and one CD from their catalogue respectively. Both daily winners and the overall winners will be named on Easter Day. Details of the winners can be found here.

  1. Wednesday 06 March
  2. Thursday 07 March
  3. Friday 08 March
  4. Saturday 09 March
  5. Monday 11 March
  6. Tuesday 12 March
  7. Wednesday 13 March
  8. Thursday 14 March
  9. Friday 15 March
  10. Saturday 16 March
  11. Monday 18 March
  12. Tuesday 19 March
  13. Wednesday 20 March
  14. Thursday 21 March
  15. Friday 22 March
  16. Saturday 23 March
  17. Monday 25 March
  18. Tuesday 26 March
  19. Wednesday 27 March
  20. Thursday 28 March
  21. Friday 29 March
  22. Saturday 30 March
  23. Monday 01 April
  24. Tuesday 02 April
  25. Wednesday 03 April
  26. Thursday 04 April
  27. Friday 05 April
  28. Saturday 06 April
  29. Monday 08 April
  30. Tuesday 09 April
  31. Wednesday 10 April
  32. Thursday 11 April
  33. Friday 12 April
  34. Saturday 13 April
  35. Monday 15 April
  36. Tuesday 16 April
  37. Wednesday 17 April
  38. Thursday 18 April
  39. Friday 19 April
  40. Saturday 20 April

site design, layout and contents © 2000-2019 Richard Shakeshaft, unless otherwise attributed
Richard Shakeshaft is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees
by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk